I am sure I am not the only one making this post and if youhave not seen the results yet, prepare for spoilers. 2011 has been an all rightyear for cinema, with films like Hugo,The Artist and Midnight in Parisall coming in. However, only a few films I have considered truly great (over9/10 rating). This year we had some pretty bad films like The Human Centipede 2, Red Riding Hood, Big Momma’s: Like Father, LikeSon, Sucker Punch, and swamps of mainstream (The Smurfs, Captain America, Sherlock Holmes). Some will be happywith the results, others not. I was not a big fan of 2011’s films, but theresults have seemed fair. Now let us take a look at some of this years mostrevered films and their results.

Hugo
After seeing the results, it has made me think about justhow magical the film is. It is definitely deserving of its accolades. I reallyenjoyed the films music (was also nominated for best original score) It won:
Best Director- Martin Scorsese
The Artist
I was happy to see The Artist sweeping 3 out of 6 nominatedawards! For me, it was the highlight of 2011 and the only film that I gave fullmarks to from the year. It took home the following:
Best Actor- Jean Dujardin
Best Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy)
Best Original Score- Ludovic Bource
Midnight in Paris
The comedy from WoodyAllen was beautifully crafted and stood out from 2011’s other contenders.It took home:
Best Screenplay- Woody Allen
The Descendants
I have not seen this yet, but it is coming to my cinemassoon. The results with this film was:
George Clooney—Best actor in a motion picture- Drama
Best Motion Picture (Drama)
The Iron Lady
I don’t think the film was worth winning anything else but this award:
Meryll Streep- Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama
A Separation
This foreign language film is all the way from Iran and isunexpectedly brilliant. A hard-hitting drama that I was glad to see appear inthe golden globes. It took home:
Best Foreign Language Film
The Adventures of TinTin
Another film I had intentions to see and did not in the end.I will have to see it soon. Spielberg and Jackson’s Tin Tin took home:
Best Animated Feature
This is just a few of the results.
To read the full results click here. http://www.goldenglobes.org/nominations/
